January 8, 2024 at 11:55 a.m.

Contest for Mayor in City of Dodgeville, candidates for other positions also file

The City of Dodgeville has three candidates for the Mayoral position which is currently held by Todd Novak.

Novak is one of the candidates along with Mike Olson and Barry N. Hottmann.

Following are the candidates for the aldermanic positions.  There will be a contest in District 3 where incumbent Jerry Johnson is opposed by Rebecca L. Hofer.  The candidates in the other three districts are running unopposed.

Aldermanic District 1: Roxanne Reynolds-Lair

Aldermanic District 2:  Jeff “Potsie” Weber

Aldermanic District 3:  Jerry Johnson, Rebecca L. Hofer

Aldermanic District 4:  Larry Tremelling

For the Dodgeville School Board two incumbents have filed for the two open seats.  They are Carrie Schroeder, City of Dodgeville and Tom McGraw,  At Large Seat 1.

The Barneveld School board will have a contest for the Village of Barneveld seat.  Incumbent Denise Douglas is opposed by Timothy Ozment. 

Running for the At-Large seat is Jeff Reese.

The Highland School District has the following candidates for two positions. 

Molly Leibfried will challenge incumbents Todd Michek  and  Ashley Yager. 

At Iowa-Grant incumbents Mary Schuaff and Tim Lundell are running unopposed.

In Mineral Point a long-time  city council member will run unopposed for mayor. 

Danny Clark, who served more than 20 years as a council member, filed to run for mayor before Tuesday’s deadline. 

Mayor Jason Basting decided not to see another term after serving six years. 

Steph McKeon filed to run in ward two, filling the seat vacated by Clark. 

In the only contested city council race, Chuck Allendorf and Evan Fischer are running in ward four to replace David Engels, who is not seeking reelection. 

Incumbents Keith Burrows and Jared Weier will run unopposed in wards three and one, respectively.

City officials are elected to two-year terms. 

Incumbents, one challenger file for school board 

Incumbent school board candidates Aaron Dunn, Justin Skelding and Rachael Bergstrom are running again. 

Alan Schrank, who ran for school board last spring, will also be on the ballot. 

Three seats are up for election. School board members serve three-year terms. 

The election is April 2 and coincides with the Wisconsin presidential primary.