September 8, 2023 at 11:35 a.m.

DP girls win, boys 2nd at Darlington; I-G, Pec-Argyle, also compete

Led by the Robinson twins and other steady runners, Dodgeville-Mineral Point’s girls cross country team eased to a win at the Darlington Invitation Cross Country Meet held Saturday. They bested runner-up and host Darlington 45-62.

Mount Horeb had the top finisher on the day in senior Abigail Sadler with an 18:51 time.

Dodge-Point’s Ellie Robinson was next in 19:10 followed by sister Annie in 19:39.

Grace Wersal cracked the top 10 (10th) for Dodge-Point with 21:25, followed by Payton Christopher 14th in 21:52 and Regan Schuette 16th in 22:22.

The final two runners for DP were Addison Christopher 22nd in 23:10 with Brienna Wasley right behind her 23rd in 23:11.

The rest of the team scores were: Lancaster 73, Mount  Horeb 100, Tri State Homeschool 148, Southwestern/Cuba City/Benton 182, Iowa-Grant 187, River Ridge 198 and North Crawford 201.

Finishes for Iowa-Grant were: Mackayla McCarthy 30th in 24:12, Meagan Cullen 37th in 25:33, Amiah Fisher 39th in 25:44, Lillian Warne 40th in 26:22,  Adriana Jelle 41st in 26:46, Rylee Stecklein 43rd in 28:03 and Angelina Peat 49th in 28:53.

The lone Pecatonica-Argyle runner was sophomore Maddy Webster who finished 80th in 29:55.

There was a girls junior varsity race and that was won handily by Dodge-Point with all five scoring runners finishing in the top 10.

Lilly Houtakker win in 23:08 with Abbey Ludwig next in 23:52 and Sierra Davenport third in 24:03.

Faye Schuette was sixth in 25:02 and Ava McDonald seventh in 25:08.

Then came Chloe Eastman 13th in 25:41, Emma Giddings 14th in 25:55, Brooke Paynter 21st in 27:10, Hayden Bakken 27th in 27:52, Brecken Blackford-Hesselberg 32nd in 28:13, Madelyn Bakken 39th in 29:33, Olivia Wilson 44th in 30:21, Reese Meudt 46th in 31:34, Alyson Melssen 49th in 32:10, Katie Kramer 53rd in 32:44 and Brynnlin Cartwright 59th in 35:09.

Dodge-Point won with 19 points to Mount Horeb’s 42, Darlington’s 62 and Lancaster’s 89.

Iowa-Grant had one runner as Abby Lee finished 67th in 38:01.

Belleville’s Carter Scholey won the boys race in 17:03 with Dodge-Point’s Layne Aurit runner-up in 17:17. Iowa-Grant’s Bret Connolly was next in 1744.

Fennimore won with 45 points over Dodge-Point’s 52. Then came Albany 133, Iowa-Grant 143, Holy Family 177, Mount Horeb 177, Wisconsin Heights/Barneveld 197, Belleville 225, River Ridge 245, Lancaster 248, Tri State Homeschool 250, St. Ambrose Academy 272, Darlington 300, Wauzeka-Steuben 358 and Pecatonica-Argyle 365.

Following Aurit for Dodge-Point were: Cody Yoder 9th in 18:15, Gabe Engel 11th in 18:40, Ethan Hook 13th in 18:49, Parker Owens 17th in 19:00, Jesse Yoder 22nd in 19:31 and Alex LaMere 34th in 20:38.

Iowa-Grant’s other finishes were: Noah Lange 16th in 19:00, C.J. Straka 23rd in 19:32, Everett  Zimmer 49th in 21:27, Jason Bartolo-Garcia 52nd in 21:39 and Myles Pettit 69th in 22:46.

Finishes for Pec-Argyle were: Grant Kuberski 43rd in 21:08, Samuel Koch 75th in 23:03, Garrett Phillipson 77th in 23:23, Eli Harris 80th in 23:37, Braelyn Meinert 90th in 25:39, Bryce Slater 91st in 26:01 and Caleb McKenna 93rd in 27:28.