November 3, 2023 at 12:10 p.m.

Dodgeville-Mineral Point girls 4th, boys 9th at state

Of the 16 Division 2 teams that qualified for the WIAA State Cross Country Championships in Wisconsin Rapids last Saturday only three finished in front of the Dodge-Point squad

Xavier, who won last year, was a repeat champion totaling 75 points, topping both Bloomer at 116 and Notre Dame at 126 with Dodge-Point a close fourth with 129.

Then came Mount Horeb 166, Shawno Community 186, University School of Milwaukee 195, 

Northwestern 207, Kiel 255, New Glarus/Monticello 256, West Salem 258, Plymouth 259, Medford 286, New Berlin Eisenhower 303, Whitewater 393 and Clinton 394.

Dodge-Point was led by junior twin sisters Ellie and Annie Robinson who finished 6th and 7th in the team scoring. Individually they were 8th and 10th with times of 18:44.5 and 19:00.2.

Senior Grace Wersal took 37th (63) in 20:41.2 with freshman Payton Christopher right behind in 38th (64) in 20:41.7. The fifth scoring spot went to freshman Lilly Houtakker who was 41st (69 at 20:46.7)

Senior Regan Schuette finished 45th (78) in  20:56.1 and junior Abbey Ludwig was 63rd (97)

in 21:44.9.

The individual winner was Northland Pines senior Nora Gremban who toured the course at The Ridges Golf /course in 17:46.7.

Runner-up was Mount Horeb senior Abigail Sadler in 18:09.3

Amost all the teams have five returnees next year with Bloomer running with five freshmen and two juniors.

The Dodge-Point boys posted a score of 205 and were led by junior Layne Aurit’s time of 16:17.6. That gave him a 5th place finish in the team individuals and 9th overall.

Lakeside Lutheran won the team event with 112 points in a tight contest with Winneconne, runner-up at 116.

The rest of the results were: Shorewood 124, West Salem 140, Bloomer 163, Lakeland Union 173, Kiel 187, McFarland 187, Dodgeville-Mineral Point 203, Shawno Community 224, Osceola 236, Watertown Luther Prep 271, Notre Dame 301, Whitewater 311, Campbellsport 312 and Clinton 374.

Following Aurit for Dodge-Pont were: junior Cody Yoder 31st (51) in 17:15.5, junior Ethan Hook 42nd (69) in 17:29.5, junior Parker Owens 61st (100) in 17:53.7 and junior Jesse Yoder 64th (103) in 17:56.3.

Senior Alex LaMere took 83rd (123) in 18:27.3 an sophomore Gabe Engel was 85th (125) in 18:29.6.

The individual winner was Edgewood senior Noah Kuhn in 15:50.5 with Amherst senior Max Voss runner-up in 16:00.2.

West Salem and Dodge-Point return six of their seven runners next  year while Clinton returns all of theirs.

“It was exciting to have both the boys and girls Dodge-Point Cross Country teams run at the state meet in Wisconsin Rapids,” sadi Dodge-Point coach Denny McGraw. “The runners worked hard all year and it was a goal to make it to the state meet. We are proud of their work ethic, determination and character to meet this goal.”

He talked about the girls team.

“The girls team ended up 4th place out of 16 teams. Ellie Robinson and Annie Robinson both made it to the podium with an 8th and 10th place finish.  Watching these two girls run all season has been a privilege. They work hard all summer and during the season to continue to be elite runners. Running on the state team were Grace Wersal (37th), Payton Christopher (38th), Lilly Houtakker (41st), Regan Schuette (45th), and Abbey Ludwig (63rd). Alternates were Brienna Wasley and Addison Christopher. The girls ran well and we are proud of their efforts during the season and post season.”

In talking about the boys team, McGraw said: “The boys team ended up in 9th place out of 16 teams. Layne Aurit made it to the podium as an individual, finishing 9th place out of 152 runners. Layne ran a very smart race, moving up so he finished in the top ten, ensuring a place on the podium. His hard work all summer and during the season really paid off. Running on the state team were Cody Yoder (31st), Ethan Hook (42nd), Parker Owens (61st), Jesse Yoder (64th), Alex LaMere (83rd) and Gabe Engel (85th). Alternates were Johnny Robinson and Rhet Spurley. We are proud of this hardworking group and will return most of them next year.”

(photos by Amy Robinson)